Tags

, , , ,

Title: Roomroom-emmad
Author: Emma Donoghue
Genre: Contemporary, Drama
Page numbers: 321
Audiobook: 10 hours, 52 minutes

MY REVIEW:
I have mixed feelings about this book, it just left me wondering around helpless. It was an unusual perspective for me, told from the point of view of a five-year-old Jack, who has spent his entire life in Room with his mother. Room is a “world” measured eleven foot by eleven, and Jack thinks that the world outside the Room is “Outer Space”. His mother manages to raise him as good as possible through all the difficulties. At night they are sometimes visited by “Old Nick” from whom Jack must hide in his wardrobe. It takes a while to learn why Jack and his Ma are there, how they got there in the first place and why they can’t leave. I don’t want to spoil the book, because it will be better if you discover everything step-by-step, that’s all I’ll say about the plot.

The relationship between Jack and his mother is touching. Jack’s innocence, his magical thinking makes this book more enjoyable. I liked that the book was not only occuring in “Room”, but also “Outside”. I don’t quite understand Ma, for me she was not developed enough.

What bothered me a little in this book was that Ma breastfeeds Jack a lot. Of course this breastfeeding was totally necessary for providing nutrition to the five-year-old and this was a symbol of their attachment, but the fact that Jack was asking for “some” or walking up to his mom and lifting her shirt up to breastfeed just annoyed me, it wasn’t for one time or five, it was in the entire book.

I don’t passively listen to books, but I was feeling tired and I decided to listen this one instead of reading it.  The audiobook is actually read by a five-year-old, which impressed me a lot and I loved listening to him.

I gave this book 4 starts out of 5, because I somehow felt terribly sorry for Jack and his mother. This book made me think about terrible real-life cases, such as the Fritzl and Ariel Castro just to name a few.

I want to finish my review with a quote: “You must not lose faith in humanity. Humanity is like an ocean; if a few drops of the ocean are dirty, the ocean does not become dirty.”
― Mahatma Gandhi

If you’d like to discuss, please share your thoughts here about anything in this book. 
pisica

